Banner Images Banner Image Banner Image Banner Image

The Rosary Shop

Supporting the life of prayer since 1996 with custom handmade rosaries, rosary kits, supplies, kneelers and prayer books.

Rosary of the Seven Sorrows


The rosary of the Seven Sorrows consists of 7 groups of 7 beads, with 3 additional beads and a crucifix. The 7 groups of 7 Hail Marys are recited in remembrance of the Seven Sorrows of Mary, namely:

  1. The prophecy of Simeon.
  2. The flight into Egypt.
  3. The loss of the Child Jesus.
  4. Mary meets Jesus carrying His cross.
  5. The crucifixion.
  6. Mary receives the body of Jesus from the cross.
  7. The body of Jesus is placed in the tomb.

Three Hail Marys are added in remembrance of the tears of Mary shed because of the suffering of her Divine Son. These are said to obtain true sorrow for our sins. Following is the concluding prayer.

V. Pray for us, O most sorrowful Virgin.
R. That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

PRAYER: Lord Jesus, we now implore, both for the present and for the hour of our death, the intercession of the most Blessed Virgin Mary, Thy Mother, whose holy soul was pierced at the time of Thy Passion by a sword of grief. Grant us this favor, O Savior of the world, Who livest and reignest with the Father and the Holy Ghost for ever and ever. Amen.

Return to the "Unusual Rosaries" directory